About ISE

Initiative for Science in Europe was created in 2004 as a platform for learned societies and research organizations, with the initial goal of rallying the European scientific community around the goal of creating the European Research Council. Since then it has been active in making the voice of scientific community heard in a number of science policy issues.

For many years, ISE was a de facto organization, housed by EMBO. Since 2017, ISE has been registered in Strasbourg as “association de droit local” (not-for-profit organization) with registration number (SIREN) 837 814 730. Its statutes can be read here. 

The members of the executive commmittee of ISE are

  • Martin Andler, president [EMAIL
  • Karin Metzlaff (EPSO), secretary 
  • Peter Svensson (EAA), treasurer
  • Fiona Watt (EMBO)
  • Moniek Tromp (YAE)
  • Gottfried Schmalz (PER-IADR)

Co-opted members:

  • Sharon Macdonald (EASA)
  • Luc Bergé (EPS)

Executive Coordinator: Monica Dietl [EMAIL]

A list of member organisations with their description is given in this page.

ISE has constituted strategic task forces to work on many different policy objectives.

For general questions. please write to  our contact email address